Agenda Item No: Report No:

Report Title: Appointments of Representatives to Serve on Outside

and Joint Bodies 2012/13

Report To: Council Date: 9 May 2012

Wards Affected: All

Report By: Leader of the Council

The Council appoints representatives to serve on a number of outside and joint bodies and, in accordance with the Council Procedure Rules, the Head of Democratic Services asked all councillors to indicate on which organisations they would be interested in serving.

The Leader of the Council (following consultation with the Leader of the Minority Group) **Recommends** that the appointment of representatives to serve on outside and joint bodies be as set out in the table below:

Outside Body (Annual appointment unless term of office/expiry date stated)	Representative(s)
3VA Board (Voluntary Action Lewes)	C R O'Keeffe
Action in Rural Sussex	H J F Sheppard
Age UK East Sussex Governing Body	J V Harris E E J Russell (sub)
Asham Literary Endowment Trust (3 years expires 2014)	M P Chartier
Chailey Common Nature Reserve Management Committee (2 reps)	S B Davy H J F Sheppard
Citizens' Advice Bureaux, Lewes & Seaford	J V S Page
Community Safety Partnership (2 reps)	A X Smith (Chair) S J Osborne
Community Transport for the Lewes Area Limited Management Committee	R Robertson
Court of the University of Sussex	J V S Page Chief Executive
East Sussex Flood Risk Panel	A T Jones
East Sussex Gypsy and Travellers Forum (2 reps)	B Groves I Eiloart
East Sussex Health and Well-Being Board	I A Nicholson
East Sussex Rural Partnership	I White

Outside Body (Annual appointment unless term of office/expiry date stated)	Representative(s)
English Heritage – Heritage Champion	R E Allen
Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee	E C Merry
Lewes Conservation Area Advisory Group	M P Chartier J Stockdale (sub)
Lewes Joint Parking Board (2 reps)	R Blackman I Eiloart
Lewes Town Partnership	J Stockdale
Local Government Association: General Assembly	J V S Page
Rural Commission (2 reps)	P Gander S Osborne
Coastal Issues Special Interest Group	R E Allen
District Councils' Network	C R O'Keeffe
Newhaven Strategic Network	R Robertson
Ouse Estuary Nature Reserve Liaison Group	R Robertson
Seaford Community Partnership	S Adeniji
Seaford Head Nature Reserve Management Committee (2 reps)	I A Nicholson P L Franklin
South Downs National Park Authority (4 years expires 2015)	A T Jones
South East Employers Local Democracy and Accountability Network (2 reps)	P L Franklin E E J Russell
South East Employers & South East Regional Council	E E J Russell R Blackman (sub)
South East England Council	E C Merry
Sussex Community Foundation Grants Committee (Lewes and District Flood and Disaster Relief Fund) (3 years expires 2014)	J V S Page
Sussex County Playing Fields Association	H J F Sheppard
Sussex Downs and Low Weald LEADER Local Action Group	H J F Sheppard
Sussex Police and Crime Panel	A X Smith
Tourism South East	R Robertson
Wave Trust Leisure Board (2 years expires 2013)	R Blackman

Joint Body (Annual appointment unless otherwise stated)	Proportionality (where appropriate) Con-LibDem (see Report No 78/12)	Representative(s)
Housing Consultative Panel	4 (3 – 1)	P Gander E C Merry C Sugarman S Saunders (R K Maskell, Lead Councillor, Housing ex officio)
Landport Bottom Management Committee	4 (3 – 1 becomes 2-1-1, see paragraph 16 of Report No 78/12)	D R Edmunds P Gander M A Cutress C R O'Keeffe
Planning User Group	3 (2 – 1)	J M Harrison-Hicks A T Jones P F Gardiner

Two places are made available to the Council each year on Chailey Common Nature Reserve Management Committee, one of which is usually offered to the Chailey Common Freeholders. As the offer of a place has not been taken up in the past by the Freeholders, the Leader of the Council has appointed two representatives to serve on this outside body for 2012/13.

Following consultation with the current representative, the Leader of the Council **Recommends** that the PATROL (Parking and Traffic Regulations Outside London) Adjudication Joint Committee no longer be appointed to as its work is not sufficiently relevant to the Council.

Councillor J V S Page Leader of the Council 3 May 2012